On-line Book
Book Cover
Cover Page



National Park System





Mount Rainier

Crater Lake


Wind Cave

Mesa Verde


Rocky Mountain


Lassen Volcanic

Mount McKinley

Grand Canyon



Hot Springs

Bryce Canyon

Grand Teton

Carlsbad Caverns

Great Smoky Mountains


Mammoth Cave


Isle Royale

Kings Canyon

Former Parks

Historical Parks

Military Parks

Glimpses of Our
National Parks

clip art XXIX clip art


UNDER the consolidation of August 1933 two national parks of historic interest were transferred to the administration of the National Park Service, which have since been redesignated. The Abraham Lincoln National Park, in Kentucky, is now classified as a national historical park; and Fort McHenry National Park, in Maryland, scene of the repulse of the British in the War of 1812 and the production of The Star-Spangled Banner, as a national monument and historic shrine.

clip art XXX clip art


AS of July 1, 1940, there are four national historical parks under the jurisdiction of the National Park Service, as follows:

ABRAHAM LINCOLN, KENTUCKY. The log cabin in which Lincoln is believed to have been born; protected by a memorial building.

CHALMETTE, LOUISIANA. Part of the ground on which was fought the Battle of New Orleans, January 8, 1815.

COLONIAL, VIRGINIA. High lights of Anglo-colonial history—Jamestown Island, where first permanent English settlement was made in North America; Yorktown, where in 1781 French and American troops captured Cornwallis' army in the last important battle of the Revolution; and parkway connecting Jamestown and the colonial city of Williamsburg.

MORRISTOWN, NEW JERSEY. Site of important military encampments during the Revolution; Washington's headquarters, 1779-90; 18th century houses; museum and collection of Washingtoniana.

The National Park Service also is administering the Saratoga National Historical Park project. The Battle of Saratoga is considered one of the 15 great battles from Marathon to Waterloo and is recognized as the turning point in the American Revolution.

clip art XXXI clip art


THE 11 national military parks, mainly historic in character, that were transferred from the War Department to the jurisdiction of the National Park Service when the consolidation of park activities mentioned on page 3 was effected, are as follows:

CHICKAMAUGA AND CHATTANOOGA, GEORGIA AND TENNESSEE. Civil War battlefields of Chickamauga, Missionary Ridge, and Lookout Mountain.

FORT DONELSON, TENNESSEE. Site of Civil War fort.

FREDERICKSBURG AND SPOTSYLVANIA, VIRGINIA. Scenes of Civil War battles of Fredericksburg, Spotsylvania, Wilderness, Chancellorsville, and Salem Church, at or near the city of Fredericksburg.

GETTYSBURG, PENNSYLVANIA. The scene of a bitter Civil War conflict. Now a beautiful natural park.

GUILFORD COURTHOUSE, NORTH CAROLINA. Scene of one of the great battles of the Revolutionary War, fought in 1781.

KINGS MOUNTAIN, SOUTH CAROLINA. Revolutionary War battlefield site.

MOORES CREEK, NORTH CAROLINA. Scene of memorable Revolutionary War battle.

PETERSBURG, VIRGINIA. Scene of siege and defense of Petersburg during the Civil War.

SHILOH, TENNESSEE. Natural park embracing Civil War battlefield.

STONES RIVER, TENNESSEE. Civil War battlefield site.

VICKSBURG, MISSISSIPPI. A beautiful natural park that was the scene of the momentous siege and surrender of Vicksburg during the Civil War.


Last Modified: Fri, Sep 1 2000 07:08:48 pm PDT

National Park Service's ParkNet Home