National Natural Landmarks Program
The National Natural Landmarks Program (NNL) recognizes and encourages the conservation of sites that contain outstanding biological and geological resources, regardless of landownership type. It is the only natural areas program of national scope that recognizes the best examples of biological and geological features in both public and private ownership. NNL sites are owned by a variety of land stewards and participation in the program is voluntary.

National Natural Landmarks are selected for their outstanding condition, illustrative value, rarity, diversity, and value to science and education. Sites are designated by the Secretary of the Interior, with landowner concurrence, and to-date, nearly 600 landmarks have received the NNL designation within the United States, American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. 

Visit the National Natural Landmarks website to learn more. 

A fox at Walrus Islands National Natural Landmark in Alaska.

National Natural Landmarks Directory

Find NNL sites by state using the map directory.

A masked booby chick at West End Cays NNL in the U.S. Virgin Islands.

NNL Biennial Report

The NNL Program produces a biennial report to highlight program accomplishments.

A bobcat at Archbold Biological Station NNL in Florida.

A Decade of Spectacular Photos

The NNL Program proudly hosted an annual photo contest from 2004-2013.

Last updated: April 8, 2016

Experience More