Press Kit


The National Park of American Samoa was established on October 31, 1988 (PL 100-571). The park has units on three tropical islands (Tutuila, Ta’ū, and Ofu) in the Territory of American Samoa, located in the South Pacific Ocean. Because the park could not purchase traditional communal land, it was not until 1993 that the park signed a 50-year lease agreement with eight participating villages. Congress approved an expansion of the park on neighboring Olosega Island in 2002 that incorporates two additional villages.

This press kit is designed to assist journalists and others with general park information, statistics and other background materials about the National Park of American Samoa. High resolution digital images are available for public us. Please contact the Interpretation and Education Office at 684-633-7082 for assistance obtaining images. Public domain images are available on our Facebook site.

Last updated: February 28, 2015

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

National Park of American Samoa
MHJ Building, 2nd Floor

Pago Pago, AS 96799


(684) 633-7082 x22

Contact Us