Home > National Historic Lighthouse Preservation Act > Available Lighthouses > 2001


NHLPA Pilot Program (2001)


Please see below for the Notice of Availability and Fact Sheet (in one pdf) for each lighthouse made available through the 2001 National Historic Lighthouse Preservation Act Program. Applications were sent for eight of the nine excessed light stations on March 12, 2002 to interested parties who responded to Notices of Availability which were published in fall 2001 by the General Services Administration. Completed applications were submitted to the Department of Interior within 60 days from receipt.



  • St. Augustine Lighthouse - Transferred to St. Augustine Light and Museum


  • Tybee Island Lighthouse - Transferred to Tybee Historical Society


  • Little River Light Station - Transferred to American Lighthouse Foundation


  • Cheboygan River Front Range Lighthouse - Transferred to the Great Lakes Lighthouse Keepers
  • Munising Station, Front/Rear Range Lights - Transferred to Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore
  • Sturgeon Point Light - Recommended for transfer to the Michigan Department of Parks

New York

  • Esopus Meadows Lighthouse - Transferred to Esopus Meadows Lighthouse
  • Rondout Creek Lighthouse - Transferred to the City of Kingston

North Carolina

  • Currituck Beach Light Tower - Transferred to Outer Banks Conservationists

Return to the list of NOAs by year