black bar with title, National Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior and the arrowhead

History & Culture Home

History & Culture
History and Culture title graphic

Built To Last: Ten Enduring Landmarks of Baltimore’s Central Business District


Vickers Building6. Vickers Building
225 East Redwood Street 
(1904-5, Meyers & Eitelman, architects)

After his building was destroyed in the Great Fire of 1904, owner George Vickers lost no time in rebuilding. He filed a design and requested a construction permit scarcely three months later.   One of the few rebuilt business edifices to utilize brick, the Vickers building typifies the simple massing and restrained use of classical ornamentation of the financial and commercial district after the fire. Since 1951, Werner's restaurant has occupied part of the ground floor and retains much of its character from that period. For more information download the Vickers Building .PDF file. (286 KB)

Previous Site | Next Site