Battle Unit Details


26th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry

26th Infantry Regiment [also called 3rd Trans-Mississippi Regiment] was organized during the summer of 1862 with men from the northwestern section of the state. This unit served in McRae's, Cabell's, L. C. Gause's, and Roane's Brigade. It skirmished in the Indian Territory, saw action at Devil's Backbone, and later participated in the fight at Jenkins' Ferry. The regiment was included in the surrender on June 2, 1865. The field officers were Colonels Iverson L. Brooks, A. G. Greenwood, Asa S. Morgan, F. P. Yell; Lieutenant Colonels James P. Stanley and John C. Wright; and Major Samuel Gibson.
View Battle Unit's Soldiers »