Battle Unit Details


1st Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Monroe's)

1st (Fagan's-Monroe's) Cavalry Regiment [also called 6th and 1st Arkansas Trans-Mississippi Cavalry], organized by Colonel J. F. Fagan in May, 1861, contained men from Izard and Carroll counties. Attached to General Cabell's Brigade, it participated in the conflicts at Cane Hill, Prairie Grove, Fayetteville, and Marks' Mills where 13 were killed and 23 wounded. The regiment later skirmished in Arkansas and disbanded in May, 1865. Its commanders were Colonels James F. Fagan and J.C. Monroe, Lieutenant-Colonel A. V. Reiff, and Majors M. D. Davis and James M. O'Neil.
View Battle Unit's Soldiers »