Evening at the Cape

Cape Lookout Lighthouse at night with a moon in the sky and light showing from the lantern room at the top

NPS Photo

This special program is offered on select dates near the full moon during the months of June, July, August, September and October. Bring your own flashlight and experience the island and the lighthouse as the keepers did: in the dark of night. Hear stories of the light keepers, watch the sunset and moon and stars come out on the unlit beaches of Cape Lookout National Seashore. Discover a different side to your favorite beach!

The cost of the program is $28 per person (price includes ferry fee) and is non-refundable (weather dependent). Reservations are required. There will be only one ferry trip on each date for Evening at the Cape. The ferry will depart Harkers Island at 7:30 pm and return at about 10:00 pm for the May through August programs. Departure and return times will be adjusted for the fall programs as the sunset will occur earlier.

Children joining the climb must be at least 44-inches tall and able to climb the steps on their own. Children 12 years of age and younger must be accompanied by an adult (16 or older). Footwear is required as well. Learn more about climbing the lighthouse...

Reservations for the evening programs will be accepted on Monday of the week prior to each month's dates. All reservations must be made online through Recreation.gov. You will need to create a profile (or account) on this website before you can complete your reservation.
 

2017 Evening at the Cape Dates

June -- Tickets go on sale Monday, May 29th at 10 A.M. EDT

  • Thursday, June 8
  • Friday, June 9 *
  • Saturday, June 10
July -- Tickets go on sale Monday, June 26th at 10 A.M. EDT
  • Saturday, July 8
  • Sunday, July 9 *
  • Monday, July 10
August -- Tickets go on sale Monday, July 24th at 10 A.M. EDT
  • Sunday, August 6
  • Monday, August 7 *
  • Tuesday, August 8
September -- Tickets go on sale Monday, August 28th at 10 A.M. EDT
  • Friday, September 8
  • Saturday, September 9
October -- Tickets go on sale Monday, September 25th at 10 A.M. EDT
  • Friday, October 6
  • Saturday, October 7
* Full moon on these nights

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

131 Charles St
Harkers Island, NC 28531

Phone:

(252) 728-2250

Contact Us