• Winter in the Wrangells

    Wrangell - St Elias

    National Park & Preserve Alaska

There are park alerts in effect.
show Alerts »
  • Headquarter's Visitor Center Switching to Winter Hours on Sept. 20th

    Wrangell-St Elias's main visitor center, located near Copper Center, AK, will be switching to winter hours starting September 20th. The new hours of operation are Mon.-Fri. 9:00 am-4:00 pm and closed on Saturday and Sunday.

Subsistence Resource Commission

Subsistence Resource Commission Meeting in Kenny Lake 3-7-13
Members of the Subsistence Resource Commission holding their bi-annual meeting in Kenny Lake, AK.
NPS Photo

The Subsistence Resource Commission (SRC) provides a venue for local subsistence users to have input into the management of subsistence resources in Wrangell-St. Elias National Park. The purpose of the Commission is to recommend to the Governor of Alaska and the Secretary of the Interior a program for subsistence hunting within Wrangell-St. Elias National Park. Since the establishment of the federal subsistence management program in 1990, the SRC has also been making recommendations on proposals for hunting and fishing regulations (e.g., harvest limits, seasons, and customary and traditional use determinations) affecting Wrangell-St. Elias National Park and Preserve directly to the federal subsistence Regional Advisory Councils (RACs) and the Federal Subsistence Board.

The Commission is comprised of nine local rural residents representing geographic, cultural, and user diversity from within the region. SRC members are appointed by the governor (3 members), the Secretary of the Interior (3 members), and the federal subsistence RACs (one each from the Southcentral, Eastern Interior and Southeast RACs).

The current members (2013) are:

  • Karen Linnell, Chair (Kenny Lake)
  • Sue Entsminger Vice Chair (Mentasta Pass)
  • Bert Adams, Sr., (Yakutat)
  • Dan Stevens, (Chitina)
  • Donald Horrell (Tazlina)
  • Don Welty (McCarthy)
  • Gloria Stickwan (Tazlina)
  • Robert Fithian (Lower Tonsina)
  • Suzanne McCarthy (Gakona)

The SRC generally meets twice a year in September/October and February/March. Meetings are open to the public, and public comments are welcome.

Did You Know?


The Wrangell Volcanic Field is comprised of 12 volcanoes, one of which, Mt. Wrangell, is still active. If fact, Mt. Wrangell is the largest and highest active volcano in the entire State of Alaska.