First Sunday Free Announced at San Francisco Maritime National Historical Park
Contact: John Cunnane, 415-561-7170
$5 Adult Entrance Fee Waived On First Sunday of Each Month, Starting January 2009
Program Offers Inexpensive Family “Vacation” For Bay Area Residents
San Francisco – Beginning on January 4, 2009, San Francisco Maritime National Historical Park will begin waiving adult park entrance fees on the first Sunday of each month. On that day, all park visitors will be able to board the National Historic Landmark vessels berthed at Hyde Street Pier at no charge, and visit the J. Porter Shaw Maritime Library, located in Fort Mason Center, without an appointment.
The historic fleet includes: the 1886 square-rigger Balclutha, the 1895 schooner C.A. Thayer, the 1890 ferryboat Eureka, and the 1907 tugboat Hercules. In the Maritime Library, visitors can browse 100 plus current maritime magazines and 1000s of historic photos, watch videos, and listen to oral histories.
“National Parks can be a place of contemplation, and refuge from the pressures of everyday life,” said Park Superintendent Kate Richardson. “We want to offer visitors the chance for an inexpensive ‘family vacation’ among the natural and cultural resources right in their own backyard.”
Other free activities at the Park include: exhibits and films in the Visitor Center (Hyde and Jefferson Streets), swimming in the Aquatic Park Lagoon – or just strolling along the Promenade and enjoying the sweeping Bay views!
Hyde Street Pier is located at the corner of Hyde and Jefferson Streets, at the west end of Fisherman’s Wharf. Supervised children welcome aboard the historic vessels. The J. Porter Shaw Library is located in Fort Mason Center, entrance at Buchanan and Marina Blvd. For more information about “First Sunday Free,” please call the Visitor Center at 415-447-5000 or visit http://www.nps.gov/safr.
Did You Know?
The GRACE QUAN is a replica of the type of fishing vessel used throughout the Bay Area by Chinese shrimp fishing companies between 1860 and 1910. She was built by San Francisco Maritime and California State park staff and volunteers in 2003. More...