The John Schmittdiel Blacksmith Shop, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, was constructed in 1866, in a time when transportation relied on horses and horse shoes. With the help of the National Park Service’s Federal Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credits, a recent $76,000 rehabilitation project converted the former blacksmith’s shop into a studio and office. Exterior rehabilitation work included removing paint, reconstructing damaged carriage doors, and installing new windows. On the interior, work involved removing the non-historic ceiling, installing insulation, adding an ADA compliant restroom, restructuring the mezzanine, and installing modern HVAC systems. The recent rehabilitation of this small building restored the period character that contributes to its neighborhood historic district.
Photo: Reconstructed carriage doors make this office space unique.
– NPS file