Keweenaw National Historical Park Advisory Commission Members

Photo of Keweenaw National Historical Park Advisory Commission member, Steve Albee

Steve Albee
At-large member

As a regional planner, Steve Albee was instrumental in developing two planning documents on establishing heritage areas in Michigan's western Upper Peninsula — Michigan Copper Mining District and Forest Interior Heritage Area. Now retired, in addition to the advisory commission, he continues his involvement in several organizations dealing with housing and natural resource issues.

Sue Dana, Keweenaw National Historical Park Advisiory Commission member.
Sue Dana
Village of Calumet

Sue Dana is a fifth generation resident of the Keweenaw Peninsula and was involved with the national park movement at its inception in 1986, and with Keweenaw NHP since its successful establishment in 1992. She has been the comptroller for the Village of Calumet since 1986. Sue is currently on the boards of the Coppertown Mining Museum, Main Street Calumet, and the Keweenaw Peninsula Chamber of Commerce. She and her husband, Richard Dana live in Laurium.
Kim Hoagland, chairperson of the Keweenaw National Historical Park Advisory Commission

Kim Hoagland
Member At Large

A retired Professor of History and Historic Preservation from Michigan Technological University, Kim Hoagland has published writings on the subjects of Alaskan architecture, Wyoming forts and Copper Country worker housing.

Photo of Ed Jenich, Keweenaw National Historical Park Advisory Commission member.
Ed Jenich
Houghton County Board of Commissioners

Ed is a life-long resident of the Keweenaw Peninsula and a retired certified Food Service Executive. He is a former mayor of the Village of Laurium and currently represents the northern portion of Houghton County as the District 1 County Commissioner. Ed, his wife and two children live in Laurium.
Al Johnson, Keweenaw National Historical Park Advisory Commission member.
Al Johnson
State of Michigan

Al studied geology and engineering at Michigan Tech, earning BS, MS and PhD degrees. Dr. Johnson retired from MTU in 1998, after a career that included leadership positions in minerals and mining research and a professorship in mining engineering. Al and his wife, Mitzi, live year round in Houghton, where he remains active in organizations related to his professional and outdoor interests.
Rev. Robert Langseth, Keweenaw National Historical Park Advisory Commission Member.
Rev. Robert Langseth - Chairperson
Charter Township of Calumet

Rev. Langseth received a B.D. from Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago and has been a parish pastor in Calumet for 33 years. From 1987-92, he chaired the community's National Park Committee. He is also on the boards of the Calumet Township Planning Commission, Keweenaw Heritage Center at St. Anne's and Keweenaw Community Foundation.
John Sullivan, Keweenaw NHP Advisory Commission member
John Sullivan
Quincy-Franklin Township

John, born and raised in Calumet is a retired Civil Engineer. He was a Principal with U.P. Engineers and Architects for 27 years and previous to that he spent 13 years with State and local governments. John is a volunteer at the Quincy Mine Hoist Association and the U.P. Firefighters Memorial Museum

Did You Know?