• View of the Golden Gate Bridge, taken from the Marin Headlands, looking towards San Francisco at sunrise.

    Golden Gate

    National Recreation Area California

National Historic Landmarks

There are five National Historic Landmarks within the Golden Gate National Recreation Area:

The Presidio of San Francisco

Fort Point National Historic Site

San Francisco Port of Embarkation

Alcatraz Island

San Francisco Bay Discovery Site (Portola Site Acquisition Monument)

What are National Historic Landmarks?

National Historic Landmarks are nationally significant historic places designated by the Secretary of the Interior because they possess exceptional value or quality in illustrating or interpreting the heritage of the United States. Today, fewer than 2,500 historic places bear this national distinction. Working with citizens throughout the nation, the National Historic Landmarks Program draws upon the expertise of National Park Service staff who work to nominate new landmarks and provide assistance to existing landmarks.

To learn more about the National Park Service's National Historic Landmark program, visit their site at: http://www.nps.gov/nhl/INDEX.htm

Did You Know?

Fort Mason Officers Club circa 1930s

The Fort Mason’s Officer Club was built in 1877 as the commanding officers’ residence and up through 1943, has been the home of virtually every significant general officer in the western states including Irvin McDowell, Nelson Miles, Arthur MacArthur, Frederick Funston and John Dewitt.