The McLean House front porch is closed, but the house remains open.
The front porch of the McLean House is being renovated requiring entry into the house through the back door.
the historic nine days in April 1865.
In 1930 Congress passed a bill providing for a monument at the site of the old Appomattox courthouse. The monument was never built, but the idea of memorializing the surrender events that occurred in the small village stayed alive. Today the structures in the village look much as they did in 1865.
Though the park consists of nearly 1700 acres, most visitors focus on the old village. Explore the places beyond the village core that teach about military activities that occurred here in 1865 and about the people and county that played host to these events. General Grant's Headquarters is the first stop in learning what happened here in Appomattox Court House on April 9, 1865.
Did You Know?
General George Armstrong Custer, of Little Bighorn fame, received the flag of truce at Appomattox Court House that brought about a cessation of hostilities leading to the surrender meeting between Lee and Grant. The Original Truce Flag is exhibited at Appomattox Court House National Historical Park.