• The First Lincoln Memorial

    Abraham Lincoln Birthplace

    National Historical Park Kentucky

2014 Schedule of Events

January:

New Year's Day
- Wednesday, January 1
Park is closed for the holiday

Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday - Monday, January 20

February:

Abraham Lincoln Birthday - Wednesday, February 12

A wreath laying ceremony will be conducted by park staff at 2:00 P.M. EST to

honor the 205th birthday of Abraham Lincoln

March:

National Park Day - Saturday, March 29

April:


Junior Ranger Day - Saturday, April 19

National Park Week - April 19 - 27

An annual Presidential proclaimed week for the celebration and recognition of your National Parks


May:

Memorial Day - Monday, May 26
Park will go to summer schedule and be open daily from 8 AM until 6:45 PM EDT


Interpretive programs given daily, check with information desk for times and location.

Lincoln Boyhood Home at Knob Creek will be staffed daily from 8:30 AM until 4:30 PM EDT

July:

Independence Day - Friday, July 4

August:

Founders Day - Monday, August 25

The National Park Service was created on this date in 1916. Founders Day is

an opportunity for parks to show our pride, connect with our visitors, and

reflect on the importance of the National Park Service mission

September:

Labor Day - Monday, September 1

Park will go to winter schedule and be open daily from 8 AM until 4:45 PM EDT.

Walk Through Lincoln's Life - September 10 and 11

An educational curriculum based event for school children and adults. The

public is invited

U. S. Constitution Week - Monday, September 15

Marks the anniversary of the U. S. Constitution being written, signed, and approved in 1787

Public Lands Day - Monday, September 27

Is the nation's largest hands-on volunteer effort to improve and enhance the public lands that Americans enjoy


November:

Veterans Day - Tuesday, November 11

Thanksgiving Day - Thursday, November 27

Park is closed for the holiday

December:

Christmas Day - Wednesday, December 25
Park is closed for the holiday

Note:


All events listed will take place at the Birthplace Unit on US 31E three miles

south of Hodgenville, KY. The park operates on Eastern Time.

The Boyhood Home Unit at Knob Creek is located on US 31E six miles north

of Hodgenville, KY.

For additional information call (270) 358-3137.

Did You Know?

Picture of Sarah Bush Johnston Lincoln, stepmother of our sixteenth president Abraham Lincoln

Abraham Lincoln had a stepmother and stepsiblings. A little over one year after his mother Nancy died, his father, Thomas, married Sarah Bush Johnston, a widow from Elizabethtown, Kentucky. She had two girls and one boy.