Abstract - Lichen Collection

Decker, L.J. 1972. Lichen Collection.


The collection is contained in 2 grey boxes in the herbarium cabinet. The lichens have been classified and divided into these five categories: 1. Fruticose - lichens which are shrub-like or somewhat woody 2. Squamulose - lichens which are scaly 3. Umbilicate - lichens shaped or depressed like an umbilicus or navel 4. Foliose - species covered with leaves; leafy 5. Crustose - lichens which have a hard and brittle texture; those pressed closely to a rocky surface.

Last updated: April 10, 2015

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

26611 US Highway 385
Hot Springs, SD 57747


(605) 745-4600

Contact Us