National Natural Landmarks by state


Umtanum Ridge Water Gap
Umtanum Ridge Water Gap, a National Natural Landmark in Washington.

There are 18 National Natural Landmark sites located within the state of Washington. Natural features represented include an outstanding exhibit of sea action in sculpturing a rocky shoreline, lava flows containing an unusually large number of fossil tree species, and the largest, most spectacular and most significant of several large water gaps through basalt anticlines. 17 of the sites received the NNL designation over the course of two decades from 1965 to 1986. Kahlotus Ridgetop, the 18th and most recent NNL site in the state, was designated in June 2011. Sites range in size from 12 acres to nearly 65,000 acres and are owned by a variety of landowners including U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Bureau of Land Management, National Park Service, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Washington State Parks, Washington Department of Natural Resources, county parks, municipalities, and private individuals.

Below is a map of sites in Washington.

National Natural Landmark sites are located in the following counties: Adams, Asotin, Benton, Clallam, Douglas, Franklin, Grant, Kittitas, Okanogan, Pierce, Thurston, Walla Walla, and Whitman.

← Back to listing of all states and territories.

Washington state map Davis Canyon Kahlotus Ridgetop Wallula Gap Grande Ronde Goosenecks Grande Ronde Feeder Dikes Rose Creek Preserve Steptoe and Kamiak Buttes Drumheller Channels Ginkgo Petrified Forest Umtanum Ridge Water Gap The Great Gravel Bar of Moses Coulee Grand Coulee Sims Corner Eskers and Kame Complex Mima Mounds Nisqually Delta Point of Arches Boulder Park and McNeil Canyon Haystock Rocks Withrow Moraine and Jameson Lake Drumlin Field

Please remember, National Natural Landmarks (NNLs) are not national parks. NNL status does not indicate public ownership, and many sites are not open for visitation.


  • Site Index