National Natural Landmarks by state


Rise at Orangeville
Rise at Orangeville, a National Natural Landmark in Indiana.

There are 30 National Natural Landmark sites located within the state of Indiana. Natural features represented include bogs, fens, marshes, and dune systems along Lake Michigan, fossil reefs in large river ecosystems, canyons, springs, and caves in an area of karst topography, and diverse and rare forest ecosystems. The sites in Indiana received NNL designation between 1965 and 1986. Sites range in size from 28 acres to over 1500 acres, and are owned by a variety of landowners including U.S. Forest Service, National Park Service, Indiana Department of Natural Resources, Purdue University, non-profit land trusts, Evansville City Parks, The Nature Conservancy and private individuals.

Below is a map of sites in Indiana.

National Natural Landmark sites are located in the following counties: Crawford, Fayette, Floyd, Fountain, Gibson, Harrison, Jefferson, La Porte, Lagrange, Lake, Lawrence, Montgomery, Orange, Owen, Parke, Porter, Putnam, Randolph, Shelby, Spencer, Vanderburgh, and Wabash.

← Back to listing of all states and territories.

Indiana state map Tamarack Bog Nature Preserve Pinhook Bog Hanging Rock and Wabash Reef Hoosier Prairie Porland Arch Nature Preserve Davis-Purdue Agricultural Center Forest Calvert and Porter Woods Nature Preserve Rocky Hollow-Falls Canyon Nature Preserve Meltzer Woods Officer's Woods Kramer Woods Wesselman Park Woods Wyandotte Cave Marnego Cave Pioneer Mother's Memorial Forest Rise at Orangeville Hoot Woods Big Walnut Creek Shrader-Weaver Woods Cabin Creek Raised Bog Donaldson Cave System and Woods Pine Hills Natural Area Ohio Coral Reef (Falls of the Ohio) Dunes Nature Preserve Cowles Bog Fern Cliff Tolliver Swallowhole Wesley Chapel Gulf Harrison Spring Hemmer Woods

Please remember, National Natural Landmarks (NNLs) are not national parks. NNL status does not indicate public ownership, and many sites are not open for visitation.


  • Site Index