

United States Department of the Interior

NATIONAL PARK SERVICE 1849 C Street, NW Washington, DC 20240

Memorandum				
To:	Secretary			
Through:	Assistant Secretary for Fish and Wildlife and Parks Ling			Digitally signed by MAUREEN FOSTER Date: 2024.07.12 14:38:46 -04'00'
From:	Director	CHARLES SAMS	Digitally signed by CHARLES SAMS Date: 2024.06.17 10:16:48 -04'00'	
Subject:	Designation of 5 Properties as National Historic Landmarks, Acceptance of Updated Documentation for 9 National Historic Landmarks, and Withdrawal of Designation for 2 National Historic Landmarks: Director's Recommendation and			

Request for Secretarial Action

At its meeting on May 1-2, 2024, the National Park System Advisory Board recommended the designation of the following properties as National Historic Landmarks:

- 1. LATTE QUARRY AT AS NIEVES, Rota, CNMI (Criteria 4 and 6)
- 2. THE FURIES COLLECTIVE, Washington, DC (Criterion 1)
- 3. BIG BONE LICK SITE, Union, KY (Criterion 1)
- 4. KREGEL WINDMILL COMPANY FACTORY, Nebraska City, NE (Criterion 1)
- 5. CHARLESTON CIGAR FACTORY, Charleston, SC (Criterion 1)

In accordance with National Historic Landmarks Program regulations, the Board reviewed the study nominating these five properties for Landmark status and found that this property meets National Historic Landmarks Program criteria. The Board, therefore, voted to recommend that these properties be designated as National Historic Landmarks.

Also, at its meeting on May 1-2, 2024, the National Park System Advisory Board recommended acceptance of updated documentation for the following existing National Historic Landmarks:

- 1. SITKA NAVAL OPERATING BASE AND U.S. ARMY COASTAL DEFENSES, Sitka, AK (Criterion 1)
- 2. LADD FIELD, Fairbanks, AK (Criterion 1, Criteria Exception 2)

- 3. PU'UKOHOLĀ HEIAU, Kawaihae, HI (Criteria 1, 2, 4, and 6)
- 4. CALUMET HISTORIC DISTRICT, Calumet, MI (Criteria 1 and 5)
- 5. QUINCY MINING COMPANY HISTORIC DISTRICT, Houghton County, MI (Criteria 1 and 5)
- 6. WATKINS MILL, Lawson, MO (Criterion 1)
- 7. FORT BROWN, Brownsville, TX (Criterion 1, Criteria Exception 2)
- 8. CEDAR CREEK BATTLEFIELD AND BELLE GROVE PLANTATION, Middletown, VA (Criteria 1 and 5)
- 9. WYOMING STATE CAPITOL BUILDING AND GROUNDS, Cheyenne, WY (Criteria 1 and 3)

In accordance with National Historic Landmarks Program regulations, the Board reviewed the updated documentation reports for these Landmarks and found that the updated documentation meets National Historic Landmarks Program criteria. The Board, therefore, voted to recommend that the updated documentation for these nine National Historic Landmarks be accepted.

Also, at its meeting on May 1-2, 2024, the National Park System Advisory Board recommended withdrawal of designation for the following existing National Historic Landmarks:

- 1. JOSEPHUS DANIELS HOUSE (WAKESTONE), Raleigh, NC
- 2. USS CLAMAGORE (former), Mount Pleasant, SC

In accordance with National Historic Landmarks Program regulations, the Board reviewed the withdrawal of designation reports for these Landmarks and found that these properties no longer meet National Historic Landmarks Program criteria. The Board, therefore, voted to recommend that designation for these two National Historic Landmarks be withdrawn.

The Certificate of Action by the National Park System Advisory Board is attached for your review. In addition, you may find the nominations and executive summaries for all of these properties at: <u>NPS Advisory Board Meeting - Spring 2024 - National Historic Landmarks (U.S.</u> <u>National Park Service)</u>

Per National Historic Landmarks Program regulations, I hereby certify that the procedural requirements set forth in 36 CFR Part 65.5 have been met. In particular, all notification requirements for these properties have been followed. No owner objections have been received.

I recommend that you approve the Board's May 1-2, 2024, recommendations and designate as a National Historic Landmarks the five properties listed above, accept the updated documentation

for the nine National Historic Landmarks listed above, and withdraw designation of the two National Historic Landmarks listed above.

APPROVE: DISAPPROVE: September 2, 2024 DATE:

Deb Haaland Secretary of the Interior

Attachments