NPS Environmental Achievement Awards

Solar power building at John Day Fossil Beds, Painted Hills Unit
John Day Fossil Beds National Monument received a 2011 EA Award for "Design and Construction of Net-Positive Housing"

NPS/M. Rose

The National Park Service (NPS) presents Environmental Achievement (EA) Awards to teams (units, groups of NPS employees, or a combination of NPS and non-NPS personnel) and partners (concessioners, contractors and cooperating associations) who demonstrate exceptional accomplishments toward the overall goal of preservation and protection of the resources under our stewardship. Specifically, the awards recognize outstanding achievements in the implementation of Executive Order (EO) 13423, Strengthening Federal Environmental, Energy, and Transportation Management, and EO 13514, Federal Leadership in Environmental, Energy, and Economic Performance.

  • NPS Southeast Region, Brian Cook
  • Assateague Island National Seashore, Sustainability Team
  • Point Reyes National Seashore
  • Xanterra Parks & Resorts, Concessioner at Yellowstone National Park
  • Big Bend Resorts, LLC concessioner at Big Bend National Park
  • Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks and the City of Visalia, CA
  • Petrified Forest National Park and Xanterra Parks & Resorts
2011 EA Award Recipients
  • Zion National Park, Jim Lutterman
  • John Day Fossil Beds National Monument
  • Timpanagos Cave National Monument
  • Yellowstone National Park
  • Zion National Park
  • Chrissy Field Center, Partner - Golden Gate National Recreation Area
  • Delaware North Companies Parks & Resorts (Concessioner - Yosemite National Park)
  • Golf Course Specialists, Inc (Concessioner - National Mall & Memorial Parks)
  • Xanterra South Rim, L.L.C. (Concessioner - Grand Canyon National Park)
  • Delaware North Companies Parks and Resorts (Concessioner - Grand Canyon National Park)
2010 EA Award Recipients
  • Grand Canyon National Park - Arizona Public Service Company
  • Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore
  • Mammoth Cave National Park
  • Redwood National and State Parks
  • Delaware North Companies Parks and Resorts (Concessioner - Yosemite National Park)
  • Delaware North Companies Parks and Resorts (Concessioner - Grand Canyon National Park
  • Doyo/ARAMARK (Concessioner - Denali National Park)
2009 EA Award Recipients
  • Denali National Park Eielson Visitor Center
  • Marsh-Billings-Rockefeller National Historic Park Forest Center
  • Mojave National Park Re-pavement of Zzyzx Road
  • Xanterra and Bryce Canyon National Park
  • Zion National Park Water Filling Stations

Last updated: May 16, 2013


  • Site Index