Shenandoah National Park Selected for the America the Beautiful Quarter Program

Subscribe RSS Icon | What is RSS
Date: September 11, 2009

Shenandoah National Park will be featured on a quarter-dollar produced by the U.S. Mint in 2014. It will be the twenty-second of 56 quarters issued in the recently announced America the Beautiful Quarters program. Approximately every ten weeks, starting in April of 2010, a new quarter depicting a national park or other federally preserved area will be released.

“We're so excited that Shenandoah National Park has been chosen to represent the Commonwealth of Virginia,” Martha Bogle, Shenandoah National Park Superintendent said. “The park protects some of the most beautiful scenery in the state and provides many recreational experiences for over a million visitors each year. We're truly honored for the park and the region to be recognized in this way.”

Established in 1935, Shenandoah National Park encompasses nearly 200,000 acres and boasts 500 miles of hiking trails, including 101 miles of the Appalachian Trail. The park is home to white-tailed deer, black bear and bobcats, as well as abundant wildflowers and birdlife. Skyline Drive, the 105-mile scenic byway, runs the length of the providing spectacular views from any of the seventy-five overlooks. 

Congress authorized the America’s Beautiful National Parks Quarter Dollar Coin Act of 2008 to celebrate the nation’s legacy of conservation. The legislation recalls noteworthy steps in the nation’s preservation movement and quotes Theodore Roosevelt who said that nothing short of defending this country in wartime “compares in importance with the great central task of leaving this land even a better land for our descendents than it is for us.”

The legislation directs the Mint to strike and issue 56 circulating quarter-dollars with reverse (tails side) designs showcasing a national park or other national site in each state, the District of Columbia and U.S. territories — Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, the U.S. Virgin Islands and the Northern Mariana Islands. The quarters will be issued sequentially each year, in the order in which the featured area was first established as a national park or site.

The coins will feature 48 National Park Service areas, two U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service refuges, and six U.S. Forest Service sites. The Mint worked in consultation with each jurisdiction’s governor or chief executive as well as Secretary of the Interior Ken Salazar to select the sites. The list was also approved by Secretary of the Treasury Timothy F. Geithner.

In addition to the coins for circulation, the Mint will produce collectable items including proof sets, silver proof sets, a five ounce silver bullion coin, coin bags, and coin rolls for each quarter. For more information about the America the Beautiful Quarters Program, please visit

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

Shenandoah National Park
3655 U.S. Highway 211 East

Luray, VA 22835


(540) 999-3500

Contact Us