|Subscribe | What is RSS|
Contact: Jonathan Moore, 715-491-6839
Historic Arcola Mills and National Park Service to Reopen Visitor Center on May 9
ST. CROIX FALLS, Wisconsin: The Arcola Mills Historic Foundation and the National Park Service (NPS) are pleased to announce that Arcola Mills will again host an NPS Visitor Center. The site will be open to the public from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Thursdays through Mondays from May 9 through October 21, 2013. The site will be closed on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. Admission is free.
Located six miles north of Stillwater, Minnesota, Arcola Mills was the site of a small and prosperous village founded at the start of the lumbering era in the 1840s. Today, the site features the Mower House, a restored Greek Revival mansion built in 1847, and 50 acres of undeveloped land within the boundary of the St. Croix National Scenic Riverway, a national park.
Visitors can enjoy unique views of the river and of a historic lumber mill site, watch a film about the Riverway, and view exhibits to learn more about the history of Arcola Mills and the logging history of the St. Croix River.
Along with hosting the visitor center, Arcola Mills also sponsors a number of educational programs throughout the season. It is also available for meetings, events, weddings, and other gatherings.
The Arcola Mills Visitor Center will be staffed by volunteers throughout the season. Anyone interested in volunteering can call Jonathan Moore, the Riverway's volunteer program coordinator, at (715) 491-6839.
2013 will mark the third year of the partnership between the Arcola Mills Historic Foundation and the National Park Service. Over 4,000 people visited the temporary visitor center in both 2011 and 2012, primarily during fall color season.
Arcola Mills is located at 12905 Arcola Trail North in Stillwater. Best access to the site is from Highway 95 on the north end of Arcola Trail (the turn is located approximately 6 miles north of Stillwater and 4.5 miles south of Marine on St. Croix). For additional information, call (651) 439-1653 or visit http://arcolamills.org.
ABOUT THE ARCOLA MILLS HISTORIC FOUNDATION
By the 1920s, long after the lumbering bonanza ended and the sawmill closed, the Mower family home and surrounding village fell into disuse. In the mid-1930s, Dr. Henry Van Meier and his wife Katharine purchased the Mower house and its surrounding 50+ acres of property on the St. Croix River. It became their summer house until Dr. Van Meier's death in 1979.
In the 1990s, after Katharine Van Meier's death, Arcola Mills was incorporated as a non-profit organization. Today, the mission of the Arcola Mills Historic Foundation is to restore and preserve this incomparable natural and historic place on the St. Croix River and to encourage people to gather here, to connect, learn, create and renew their spirit.
ABOUT THE ST. CROIX NATIONAL SCENIC RIVERWAY
The St. Croix National Scenic Riverway, a unit of the National Park System, was established by the Wild and Scenic Rivers Act in 1968. It is one of a group of eight rivers in the country that first received this recognition. For 255 miles, the St. Croix River and its tributary, the Namekagon, flow through some of the most scenic and least developed country in the Upper Midwest.
For additional information on the Riverway, call (715) 483-2274.