Alger Women of Honor Roll

In 2006, two Alger County women were added to the county roll of honor.  They are pictured with the program speaker and coordinators.
Alger Women of Honor program participants, 2006

NPS photo

The Alger Women of Honor roll recognizes Alger County women who have lead enriched lives, whether through work, hobby, volunteerism, or everyday living. Though the date may vary, the annual program is often held on the third Thursday of August.

The Women of Honor Observance celebrates the passage of the 19th amendment to the U.S. Constitution, which gave women the right to vote.

Nomination form (pdf)


Women’s Suffrage Rights
Nineteenth Amendment
August 26, 1920

Section 1. The right of the citizens of the United States to vote shall not be denied
or abridged by any State on account of sex.

Section 2. Congress shall have power to enforce this article by appropriate legislation.






Dr. Katherine Reynolds, Director
Alger Chamber of Commerce
Linda Balko
Deanna Boyak
Mary Jo Cook

2013 Ron Jones
Park Ranger (Interpretation)
Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore

Debra Fulcher
Evelyn Morrison
Lenore Schramm
2012 Angel Veneberg, Teacher
Munising Baptist School
Peggy Carberry
Marcella Carlson
Sharon Nelson-Curtice


Lisa Cromell, Director
Munising Public Schools Library

Michelle Coleman
Penny Hatt
Rosa Maria Hoy


Karena Minor
Park Ranger (Interpretation)
Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore

Teresa Chase
Patricia Porter
Nancy Weston Hughes

2009 Barbara Trombley
4-H Club Leader
Paula Ackerman
Claudia VanLandschoot
Martha Verbrigghe

2008 Gregg Bruff
Chief of Heritage Education
Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore
Alice Fahrbach
Mary Jayne Hallifax
Karen Scheaffer


Mary Thomas
Former professional skater
Grand Island resident

Wilma Hill
Jude Holloway
Billie Mazzali


Nheenah Weyer Ittner Founder/Director
Upper Peninsula Children's Museum

Elizabeth Rajala
Joan Vinette


Janel Crooks
Hiawatha National Forest

Geraldine Anderson
Nancy Cihak
Treasa Iho


Jackie Chandonnet
News Anchor

Dorothy Avery
Jacqueline Richmond
Ruth Snyder


Karen Bahrman
Prosecuting Attorney
Alger County

Alice Aley
Hella Maki
Evelyn Wood


Karen Gustin
Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore

Anita Hulse
Diane Isleib
Shirley Olson


Frida Waara
Video Producer, Freelance Writer,
Owner of On-Cue Productions

Rochelle Cotey
Lois Leavenworth
Helen Maki


Dr. June Schaefer, Superintendent
Marquette-Alger Intermediate School District

Mary Beth Kovanen
Jeanette Little
Nancy Robare


Dr. Judith Bailey
Northern Michigan University

Barbara Feldhusen
Marie Fromm
Kathleen Goss
Rita Hedglin


Joni Peffers
Sexual Assault Response Advocate
for Alger County

Frances "Kewpie" Gage
Brynhild "Beo" Mitchell
June Nettleton
Sandee Sibbald


Margaret Swetish Twichell, RN, BSN
Wellness Institute Coordinator
Marquette General Hospital

Gail Hall
Ardis Hanish
Norma Harger
Earlene Ingraham
Kris Lindquist


Michael Prusi
Representative, 109th District
State of Michigan

Catherine Casey
Bettina Graber
Mary Alice Johnson
Sadie Luoma
Faith Swanberg
Kim Swanberg


Connie Binsfeld
Lieutenant Governor
State of Michigan

Evelyn Balko
Connie Binsfeld
Marvel Campbell
Gladys Dolaskie
Edna Jean Johnson
Esther Jonas
Aune Juntunen
Maybelle Kahle
Phyllis Pokela
Clara Severson
Sarah Williams

For more information or to nominate an Alger County woman for this honor, please contact:

Mary Jo Cook, Program Coordinator
Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore
P.O. Box 40
Munising, MI 49862
906-387-2607, ext. 213

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

P.O. Box 40
Munising, MI 49862


(906) 387-3700
Interagency Visitor Center (open year round)

Contact Us