Off Highway Vehicle (OHV) Regulations @3
Utah Resident Information

Utah OHV Use on the Arizona Strip

To operate your Utah registered OHV (Off Highway Vehicle) in Arizona there are four-types of road/area
classifications:

Arizona County, state or public highway
Public road constructed and maintained by the state, city, county, town, or any entity of the state of Arizona.
Bureau of Land Management (BLM), US Forest Service (USFS)
National Park Service (NPS)
Designated trail or off-road special use area

OHV’s must display the Utah sticker if operated within Arizona. Additionally, the OHV must be street-legal registered
if operated on county/state roads and roads administered by the NPS. OHV's that are registered street-legal in the
State of Utah meet Arizona requirements for a street legal OHV. To operate on BLM, some USFS, and designated
trails or off-road special use areas OHV’s must have a rearview mirror and eye protection, 16-17 year olds must
wear a helmet, and no passengers are permitted unless OHV’s are designed by the manufacturer to carry more than
one person (no aftermarket kits). No person may operate an off-highway vehicle on public lands without a valid
State operator’s license or learner’s permit, where required by State or Federal laws.

** To operate on county roads or NPS roads the OHV must meet all safety and equipment requirements for a street
legal OHV from their state of origin including liability insurance and a metal license plate. All Arizona State motor
vehicle laws and regulations are applicable.

Utah OHV Regulations
Definitions:

OHV: is any snowmobile, all-terrain Type | vehicle, all-terrain Type Il vehicle, or motorcycle.

All-Terrain Vehicle Type | (Type 1 OHV): Any motor vehicle 52 inches or less and 1500 pounds or less, or
any motorized vehicle having three or more low-pressure tires and a straddle designed seat.
All-Terrain Vehicle Type Il (Type Il OHV): Any motor vehicle other than a type | OHV, snowmobile or

motorcycle designed for or capable of travel over unimproved terrain.
Motorcycle: Motor vehicle having a saddle seat and designed to travel on no more than two tires.
Snowmobile: Any motor vehicle designed for travel on snow or ice and steered/supported by skis, belts,
cleats, runners, or low-pressure tires.

Recreation Sticker: OHV permit for non-residents that bring an OHV into Utah.

Street-Legal: Operators of a street-legal OHV’s must obtain the appropriate equipment, insurance, registration,
license, emissions inspection, and a motorcycle endorsement on their operator’s drivers license to be
eligible to operate on highways.

Registered: Any OHV being operated on public lands, roads, or trails must display a current OHV registration
sticker.
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Requirements:

Registration Sticker: Most recent registration, title, VIN inspections, and at least one person whose name will be on
the title if being titled in Utah for the first time and a $20.50 annual registration fee, with registrations expiring on
the last day of the month the OHV was purchased.

Recreation Sticker: Non-resident OHV operators must purchase a Non-resident OHV Permit for each OHV they bring
into the state. These permits are available from vendors. A complete list of vendors is available at:
http://static.stateparks.utah.gov/docs/OHV_vendors.pdf or Utah State Parks and Recreation (801) 538-7220.
OHVs currently registered in a state offering reciprocal operating privileges to Utah residents shall be exempt from
the nonresident user fee requirements of the rule. State listings can be found at::
http://stateparks.utah.gov/ohv/reciprocity.

Option-Street Legal: OHV’s can be registered street-legal in Utah. OHV may be registered street-legal if they
possess the proper safety equipment, are properly registered, have passed state safety inspection, and carry the
proper insurance (liability). Headlights, taillights, license plate with light, red reflector, turn signals, rearview mirror,
and illuminated speedometer are required for street-legal registration in Utah.

Age and Education: No one under 8 years old can operate an OHV on public lands in Utah. If they are between the
ages of 8 and 15 they may operate on public lands in Utah if they possess an Education Certificate issued by Utah
State Parks, or equivalent from their home state. If they are 16 years of age or older they may operate an OHV if
they possess either a valid driver’s license or an approved OHV Education Certificate. Operating a street legal
OHV requires that the operator of OHV have a motorcycle endorsement to the operator's driver license.

Grand Canyon-Parashant National Monument
National Park Service & Bureau of Land Management

o Off-Road driving is not permitted within the Monument.
o For more information please contact the Chief Ranger at 435.688.3280 or 435.668.0701 or
ray klein@nps.qov or check the website at www.nps.gov/para.

References

o Utah State Parks and Recreation: “Utah Off-Highway Vehicle Program Brochure”

o Utah State Parks Webpage: http:/stateparks.utah.gov/ohv

o Non-resident OHV Permit Vendors: static.stateparks.utah.gov/docs/OHV_vendors.pdf or Utah State Parks and Recreation (801)
538-7220.

e Arizona Game and Fish — Arizona State Parks Brochure: Arizona Off-highway Vehicle Guide, “OHV Laws and Places to Ride”.

e Arizona Game and Fish Website: http://www.azgfd.gov/outdoor_recreation/off_highway.shtml

Revised June 18, 2012


http://stateparks.utah.gov/ohv
http://www.azgfd.gov/outdoor_recreation/off_highway.shtml
//ilmazgc3ds1/gc/users/arfrankl/My Documents/ATV brochure
http://stateparks.utah.gov/ohv/reciprocity

