
California OHV Use on the Arizona Strip 

 Off Highway Vehicle (OHV) Regulations 

California OHV Regulations 

To operate your California registered OHV (Off Highway Vehicle) on the Arizona Strip there are four-types 

of road/area classifications: 
 

Arizona County, state or public highways 

Public road constructed and maintained by the state, city, county, town, or any entity of the state of Arizona. 

Bureau of Land Management (BLM), US Forest Service (USFS) 

National Park Service (NPS) 

Designated trails or off-road special use area 
 

OHVs must display a current California Red or Green sticker if operated within Arizona. No person may operate an OHV 

on public lands without a valid State operator’s license or learner’s permit, where required by State or Federal laws.  

Operators 16-17 years of age must wear a helmet. All operators must wear eye protection. No passengers are          

permitted unless OHV’s are designed by manufacturer to carry more than one person (no after-market kits).  All OHVs 

must have a rear view mirror. Additionally, the OHV must be street legal registered with a  metal license plate attached if   

operated on county/state roads or roads administered by the NPS. Therefore, since there is not a street legal        

program in California for ATV’s (All terrain vehicles) and UTV’s (Utility vehicles) they must travel only on BLM, 

some USFS roads, or on designated trails or off-road special use areas. Contact the land management agency for 

the location of these areas. All Arizona State motor vehicle laws and regulations are applicable.  

California Resident Information 

 

     

              G
ra

n
d
 C

a
n
y
o
n
-P

a
ra

sh
a
n
t N

a
tio

n
a
l M

o
n
u
m

e
n
t                      

 

(Continued on back) 

Definitions: 

OHV and OHMV: (Off Highway Vehicle and Off Highway Motor Vehicle) Any motor vehicle commonly referred to as 

a sand buggy, dune buggy, or all-terrain vehicle, any snowmobile or other vehicle designed to travel over snow 

or ice, or any motor vehicle commonly referred to as a jeep.  

Registration: If you are operating an OHV on lands open and accessible to the public for OHV recreation, whether   

 public or privately owned, it must have either a highway license or an OHV sticker. OHV stickers include "Green 

Stickers," "Red Stickers," and California Nonresident OHV Use Permits. The terms "registration" and            

“identification" are interchangeable. 

Green Sticker: Issued for all California OHVs year model 2002 and older, including those that were previously   

issued a red sticker, and to 2003 and newer emission standard complying vehicles. Green stickers are issued to 

OHVs for year round use at all California OHV riding areas. 

Red sticker:  Issued to 2003 year model and newer OHVs that are not certified to California OHV emission     

standards. If your OHV has a "3" or "C" in the eighth position of the vehicle identification number (VIN) then your   

vehicle will be issued a red sticker. Red stickers are issued to OHVs that can use California OHV riding areas 

for seasonal use only 

Street-Legal License plate:  If you want to operate a 4-wheel drive vehicle or dual-purpose motorcycle on-highway 

and off-highway, you must have a street-legal license plate. Follow California State law for registering a vehicle. 

Not available for ATV’s or UTV’s. 

Non Resident Permit: All vehicles operated off-highway on public lands in California are required to be (1) street-

licensed or (2) registered as an off-highway vehicle (OHV). If you are visiting California from another state and 

your vehicle does not have a current registration from your home state, you must purchase a California       

Nonresident OHV Use Permit before you recreate on public lands. A title sticker or title plate is not registration. 



 

California State Parks – Off-Highway Motor Vehicle Recreation: http://ohv.parks.ca.gov/?page_id=1234 

California State Parks - Off-Highway Vehicle Law Enforcement Information: www.ohv.parks.ca.gov 
California Law- California Vehicle Code: http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/calawquery?codesection=veh&codebody=&hits=20 

Arizona Game and Fish – Arizona State Parks Brochure:  Arizona Off-highway Vehicle Guide, “OHV Laws and Places to Ride”. 

Arizona Game and Fish Website: http://www.azgfd.gov/outdoor_recreation/off_highway.shtml 

 References 

Requirements: 

California Air Resources Board (ARB) established regulations to limit the use of Off-Highway Vehicles (OHVs) that do not 

meet   emission standards applicable for California OHV riding areas. After the regulations were established, ARB and 

DMV worked together to develop criteria for identifying non-complying OHVs. OHVs are registered by the Department of 

Motor Vehicles (DMV). A red or green sticker is issued depending upon certain criteria.  

Green Sticker: Effective January 1, 2008, new legislation increased the off-highway vehicle (OHV) registration fee to 

$50.00 every-other year. Both green and red sticker OHV registrations will be charged the increased fee. 

Red Sticker: Effective January 1, 2008, new legislation increased the off-highway vehicle (OHV) registration fee to 

$50.00 every-other year. Both green and red sticker OHV registrations will be charged the increased fee. 

Registration: According to California State law, any off highway vehicle must be equipped with an approved muffler, 

brakes, and spark arrester.  Headlights and taillights are required for operation at night. Taillights must include at 

least one red light. 

Non Resident Permit: If you are a resident of another state and your OHV has valid registration (OHV registration 

decal or  highway license plate) from that state, you do not need a Green or Red Sticker or a California          

Nonresident OHV Use Permit. If a nonresident cannot provide valid proof of possessing such a document, they 

must purchase the California Nonresident OHV Use Permit and must meet registration requirements. 

Operation:  Anyone under 18 years of age must take the California OHV Safety Certificate course, be under direct 

supervision of an adult possessing the appropriate safety certificate, or possess the safety certificate.  Anyone 

under the age of 14 years of age must be under direct supervision of an adult and also possess one of the above 

three safety certificates.  A helmet is required and no passengers are allowed on OHV’s except one passenger 

that may be carried if the OHV is designed to carry a passenger (no after-market kits). An adequate muffler is 

also required for noise limitation in the state of California. OHV must also meet all safety and equipment         

requirements according to the California vehicle code for off- highway motor vehicles.  

Revised June 18, 2012 

Grand Canyon-Parashant National Monument 
National Park Service & Bureau of Land Management 
 

Off-Road driving is not permitted within the Monument.  
For more information please contact the Chief Ranger at 435.688.3280 or 435.668.0701 or 
ray_klein@nps.gov or check the website at www.nps.gov/para. 

http://ohv.parks.ca.gov/?page_id=1234
http://www.ohv.parks.ca.gov
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/calawquery?codesection=veh&codebody=&hits=20
http://www.azgfd.gov/outdoor_recreation/off_highway.shtml

