Horn icon. This link bypasses navigation taking you directly to the contents of this page.


Inquiry Question

Historical Context





Table of

United States History Standards for Grades 5-12

The Mary McLeod Bethune Council House: African American Women Unite for Change
relates to the following National History Standards:

    Era 7: The Emergence of Modern America (1890-1930)

  • Standard 3A: The student understands social tensions and their consequences in the postwar era.

    Era 8: The Great Depression and World War II (1929-1945)

  • Standard 1B: The student understands how American life changed during the 1930s.
  • Standard 2A: The student understands the New Deal and the presidency of Franklin D. Roosevelt.
  • Standard 3C: The student understands the effects of World War II at home.

    Era 9: Postwar United States (1945-early 1970s)

  • Standard 4A: The student understands the "Second Reconstruction" and its advancement of civil rights.
  • Standard 4B: The student understands the women's movement for civil rights and equal opportunities.


Back to About This Lesson

Comments or Questions
Privacy & Disclaimer

National Park Service arrowhead with link to NPS website.