Underground Railroad Travel Itinerary Header

Levi Coffin House Levi Coffin House
Built in 1839 and now a National Historic Landmark, this house was owned by Levi Coffin (1798-1877), a Quaker abolitionist. Because of his outstanding role in the operation of the Underground Railroad, Coffin has been termed its "president." It is believed that Coffin and his wife Catharine helped more than 2,000 fugitive slaves escape to freedom, using this house as a principal depot. Coffin was born in North Carolina and in 1826 moved to Fountain City, at that time called Newport, where he operated a general merchandise store. In 1847 the Coffins moved to Cincinnati and opened a store that dealt in goods made by free labor and continued with their antislavery activities. Immediately after the issuance of the Emancipation Proclamation, Coffin worked to aid freedmen. In 1864 he went to England and was instrumental in the formation of an Englishman's Freedmen's Aid Society which contributed money, clothing, and other articles to newly freed African Americans. In 1867 Coffin attended the International Anti-Slavery Conference in Paris. Following this event he lived in retirement until his death in 1877. Coffin's accounts on his activities as the "president" of the Underground Railroad were published in an 1876 book entitled Reminiscences of Levi Coffin .

The Levi Coffin House, owned by the Indiana State Museum and Historic Sites, is located in Fountain City, Indiana, at 113 U.S. 27 North. It is open to the public from June 1-August 31, Tuesday-Saturday, 1:00-4:00 pm. From September 1-October 31 it is open on Saturdays only, 1:00-4:00 pm. For more information on the Levi Coffin House and the Underground Railroad in Fountain City call 765-847-2432 or visit the http://www.indianamuseum.org/explore/levi-coffin-house website

Previous | List of Sites | Home | Next

Comments or Questions
Last Modified: EST