This magnificent 21-room Second Empire style building was constructed
by the Savage Mining Company in 1861. The ornate building is an excellent
example of the architectural elegance associated with the offices and
residences of the mining elite. The top two floors of the building served
as the mine superintendent's residence, while the ground floor was the
mine office. The building has been restored with attention to its distinctive
architectural features, such as the mansard roof, dormer windows and delicate
gingerbread trim. The interior boasts 14-foot-high ceilings, a seven-foot
copper bathtub, a Lincrista frieze in the main hallway and early Victorian
furnishings. Ulysses S. Grant is said to have stayed in the house in 1879
and addressed crowds in a speech from the porch. During this time, a Mrs.
Monoghan, whose husband had been killed in one of the mines, served as
a housekeeper to the superintendent. When the mines closed down in 1918,
the Savage Mining Company deeded the land, house and furnishings to Mrs.
Savage Mining Company Office
Photo by Rebecca Ossa,
Courtesy of Nevada State Historic Preservation Office
The term "mansion" has been liberally applied in the Comstock to include
any large and vaguely residential building. This has been done for promotional
purposes and is far from being an accurate characterization. Even the
most elaborate dwellings in Virginia City would be considered no more
than ordinary houses in any urban setting. In the case of the Savage,
Gould & Curry and Chollar properties, all referred to as mansions, the
term is a complete misnomer, having been applied to buildings that served
primarily as offices for major mining companies.
The Savage Mining Company Office is located at 146 South D St.
in Virginia City. The building currently serves as office space and
is privately owned.