East Feliciana Parish Courthouse
Courtesy of the Capital Resource
Conservation and Development Council
Photograph from National Register
The East Feliciana Parish Courthouse
stands as a monument that has suffered few alterations from its original
appearance as completed in 1840. Designed by J. S. Savage and built by
Lafayette Saunders, the Courthouse stands as a two-story brick building
surrounded by a Doric colonnade. Saunders, when his construction bid of
$23,000 was accepted, resigned as a member of the East Feliciana Parish
Police Jury. The five buildings comprising Lawyers' Row face the Courthouse
across Woodville Street on the north side of the public square. These,
like the Courthouse, are Greek Revival in style and painted white. Dating
from the 1840s, the two brick offices at the east end of the row and the
frame buildings at the west end of the row are alike in having tetrastyle
porticos averaging 20 feet in width. The other two buildings each have
seven columns under level cornices. A full Greek Revival Courthouse opposite
five adjacent law office buildings of harmonious design form an ensemble
unique when first completed and even more remarkable for having survived
Today, only four courthouses built in Louisiana before the Civil War
are still used for parish proceedings. Aside from the Clinton, East
Feliciana Parish, they are found in Thibodaux, Lafourche Parish, St.
Marinsville, St. Martin Parish, and Homer, Claiborne Parish. Some courthouse
alterations in recent years to the Clinton Courthouse included cutting
vents in chimneys and putting lights on the roof. Original specifications
confirm that the East Feliciana Parish Courthouse is minimally altered
from its appearance as completed in 1840. The Courthouse and Lawyers'
Row, painted in a pristine white surrounding a public courtyard, provide
a scenic view of a past that has survived completely intact. Lawyers'
Row is located across from the Clinton Courthouse and currently contains
Courthouse and Lawyers' Row, a National Historic Landmark, are located
in downtown historic Clinton along State Hwy 10. The buildings are open
to the public during normal business hours, although tours are not available.