Journey Through A National Register of Historic Places Travel Itinerary
along Route 15 in Virginia's Piedmont
Hallowed Ground
Journey Through Hallowed Ground Homepage
Map of the Virginia Piedmont
Learn More about the Virignia Piedmont
National Register Home Page


This Northern Virginia county, formed from Fairfax County 1757, was named for John Campbell, fourth Earl of Loudoun, who was commander of British forces in North America during the early part of the French and Indian War and Governor of Virginia in 1756-59. The county seat is Leesburg.


Named for William Augustus, Duke of Cumberland and third son of King George II, this Northern Virginia county was formed from Stafford and King George counties in 1730. Its county seat is Manassas.


Named for Francis Fauquier, Lieutenant Governor of Virginia from 1758 to 1768, this Northern Virginia county, known for its numerous estates, was formed in 1759 from Prince William County. Its county seat is Warrenton.


Formed from Orange County in 1749, Culpeper County probably was named for Thomas Culpeper, second Baron Culpeper of Thoresway, Governor of Virginia from 1677 to 1683, whose family long held proprietary rights in the Northern Neck. The county seat is Culpeper.


In the hills of the Piedmont, against the Blue Ridge Mountains, Madison County was formed from Culpeper County in 1792 and was named for James Madison, who then represented the area in Congress. The county seat is Madison.


Formed from Spotsylvania County in 1734, this pastoral Piedmont county probably was named for William IV, Prince of Orange-Nassau, who married Princess Anne, eldest daughter of King George II, that same year. Its county seat is Orange.


Located in the heart of the Virginia Piedmont, this rural county was named in honor of Princess Louisa, a daughter of King George II. It was formed from Hanover County in 1742. Its county seat is Louisa.


This Piedmont county was named for William Anne Keppel, second Earl of Albemarle and Governor of the Virginia colony from 1737 to 1754. It was formed from Goochland County in 1744, with part of Louisa County added later. The county seat is Charlottesville.

Fluvanna County

Fluvanna County takes its name from the 18th-century term for the upper James River, meaning "river of Anne," in honor of Queen Anne. It was formed from Albermarle County in 1777. The county seat is Palmyra.


Piedmont History essay Civil War essay Preserving the Piedmont essay


Itinerary Home | List of Sites | Main Map | Learn More |


Comments or Questions