National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program
Weekly Highlight: Chapel of the Holy Cross
Coconino County, Arizona

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


[photo] of highlighted property
The Chapel of the Holy Cross in Sedona, Arizona, commands a dramatic view set against the cliffs above and the valley below. Built in 1955-56 in a Modernistic  Style, the chapel stands as a highly significant and outstanding example of mid-20th century modern architecture that harmoniously blends a modern building of concrete, steel, and glass into the natural rock bound desert environment for which Sedona is known.  The chapel is the work of patrons Marguerite and Tony Staude and Californian architects Anshen and Allen, who also designed the Quarry Visitor Center National Historic Landmark at Dinosaur National Monument. The building and its 11.08 acre site is on land owned by the U.S. Forest Service, but is managed by a local church and the corresponding Catholic diocese by permit with the U.S. Forest Service. The Chapel of the Holy Cross remains in excellent condition, and draws thousands of visitors every year.

NPS Cultural Resources Celebrates Hispanic Heritage Month

To see more photographs of this property go to our photostream on Flickr.

See our Weekly List (with previous highlights)