Search National Register Search



University of Arkansas Campus Historic District, Washington County, Arkansas

Point of Rocks This historic district covers the historic core of the 345-acre campus located to the west of downtown Fayetteville. Founded in 1871, the University of Arkansas is a major land grant and state university of Arkansas, with 19,000 students in eight colleges and schools, five research and extension centers, and eight branch experiment stations. The University is one of the oldest colleges in the state, and has played an important social, economic, and educational role in Fayetteville and Arkansas for well over a century. The Campus Historic District includes the portion of the modern campus that was the location of the original campus, on land purchased from the McIlroy family in 1871.

Read the full file
See our Weekly List
Recent Weekly Highlights
photo photo Point of Rocks
Millersylvania State Park Point of Rocks Historic Transportation Corridor Upper Sandy Guard Station Cabin





[graphic] Link to [graphic] National Park Service  Arrowhead and link to [graphic] National Park Service Arrowhead and link to