National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Arlington House Historic District
Reference Number R_A_14000067
State Virginia
County Arlington
Town Arlington
Street Address Roughly bounded by Sheridan Dr., Ord & Weitzel Dr., Humphreys Drive & Lee Avenue in Arlington National Cemetery
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 3/17/2014
Areas of Significance Architecture, Landscape Architecture, Military, Politics/Government, Other: Commemoration, Conservation/Historic Preservation, Ethnic Heritage: Black, Archeology: Prehistoric Archeology: Historic Non-Aboriginal
Link to full file
Arlington House derives its primary historical significance from its association with two nationally significant historical figures and from its link to an important event in the nation's history. George Washington Parke Custis, George Washington's step grandson whom Washington raised at Mt. Vernon, and General Robert Edward Lee, a world-renowned military leader and a seminal figure in the American Civil War, both called Arlington home and are intimately linked to its history and evolution (Criterion B: Politics/Government- National; Military- National). In addition, the house has national importance as the setting of a critical Civil War event that took place on April20, 1861, the date that Robert E. Lee made the pivotal decision to resign his commission in the United States Army and join the Southern secessionists.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria