National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Agate Fossil Beds National Monument (Boundary Increase Additional Documentation)
Reference Number R_A_12001126
State Nebraska
County Sioux
Town Harrison
Street Address 301 River Road
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 10/30/2013
Areas of Significance AGRICULTURE: ranching, ARCHEOLOGY: prehistoric, historic aboriginal, historic non-aboriginal, SCIENCE: paleontology
Link to full file
The Agate Fossil Beds National Monument meets National Register Criteria A, B, and D. The district is associated with events and activities that have contributed to the broad historical patterns related to western Nebraska agriculture and ranching in the High Plains, and to the newly burgeoning science of paleontology. James Henry Cook was an early and long-time rancher on the semi-arid upper Niobrara River, and his son Harold Cook remained in the area to pursue his passion in the science of paleontology. This ranch is significant under Criterion A representing early ranching and agriculture on the High Plains at the state level. James Cook manipulated his immediate environment through the extensive use of irrigation on his land to provide a growing atmosphere not native to the region. The Cook Ranch itself and the landscape associated with the ranch represent well executed ranch patterns in the region. The property retains the required structures and buildings needed to sustain a functioning ranch.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria