National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Hillsborough Historic District Additional Documentation
Reference Number AD_73001363_02_22_2014
State North Carolina
County Orange
Town Hillsborough
Street Address Roughly bounded by Nash, Corbin, and Thomas Ruffin streets, Saint Mary's Road, Tuscarora Drive, and the Eno River.
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status accepted 1/22/2014
Areas of Significance Architecture, Ethnic Heritage: Black Education
Link to full file
The Hillsborough Historic District was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1973 with an implied period of significance of c. 1754, the year in which the town was laid out by William Churton, to c. 1920. The nomination focused on the eighteenth- and nineteenth-century development of the town and included architectural descriptions and context for only the earliest and most prominent structures. Additional documentation submitted in 1980 and again in 1984 identified archaeological resources located within the district. In 1989, additional documentation approved by the Keeper of the National Register extended the period of significance to 1939 in order to encompass the majority of the development of the downtown commercial buildings. The current additional documentation provides information on the district's development from 1940 to 1963, an architectural overview of the 1900 to 1963 period, and a complete inventory list, in order to extend the period of significance through 1963. Thus the period of significance established by this documentation is c. 1754 to 1963.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria