National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Markward Homestead
Reference Number 16000719
State TX
County Lampasas
Town Lampasas
Street Address 101 East FM 580
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 10/11/2016
Areas of Significance Architecture
Link to full file
The Markward Homestead, in Lampasas, Texas features two fine examples of 19th century vernacular residential architecture in a rural setting. The 1875 three-room limestone house served as the primary residence until a larger limestone house was completed in1883 just to the south of the first home. Built by master stonemason Theodore Bauerfeind for John Markward and his family, the buildings are a testament to the skill of the German immigrant builder, and reflect the social status of the owner, a fellow German immigrant who established a successful mercantile business in Lampasas and was also instrumental in bringing the railroad to Lampasas from Galveston. The houses combine traditional German masonry techniques with decorative aspects of the popular American Folk Victorian style, and the primary house is noteworthy for its unusual (and possibly unique) double-hall plan. The Markward Homestead is nominated to the National Register of Historic Places, at the local level of significance, under Criterion C in the area of Architecture, as an excellent example of the pre-railroad confluence of styles and techniques that characterize Central Texas vernacular architecture.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria