National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Oconee County Courthouse
Reference Number 16000715
State SC
County Oconee
Town Walhalla
Street Address 211 W. Main St.
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 10/11/2016
Areas of Significance ARCHITECTURE
Link to full file
The Oconee County Courthouse at 211 W. Main Street in Walhalla, Oconee County, South Carolina is eligible for the National Register of Historic Places at the local level of significance under Criterion C for Architecture. Constructed in 1956, the Oconee County Courthouse is an interesting and eclectic mix of periods within the Modern movement: steel enamel paneling, heavy limestone cornices and sills, and large glass paneling add characteristically midcentury ornament to a body otherwise reminiscent of the Stripped Classicism that is typically seen in buildings built several decades earlier. This mixing of styles makes the Oconee County Courthouse stand out among South Carolina's civic structures and within the portfolio of its designers, the regionally significant architectural firm Lyles, Bissett, Carlisle &Wolff. The building's architecture embodies Oconee County's desire to invoke the permanence and authority associated with Stripped Classicism, while simultaneously suggesting the promise and modernity of the county's postwar economic prosperity. In complementing the older, more traditional Stripped Classicism with modern details, Oconee County communicated its dual desires to establish a civic architecture with the gravitas of established style while also adapting to the heady period in its economic growth. Though it defies easy categorization, the architecture of the Oconee County Courthouse reflects contemporary local attitudes in Oconee County at mid-century

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria