National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name District No. 4 School
Reference Number 16000713
State Massachusetts
County Worcester
Town Petersham
Street Address 191 East St.
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 10/11/2016
Link to full file
The Greek Revival-style District No.4 School in Petersham, MA, retains integrity of location, setting, materials, design, workmanship, feeling, and association, and meets Criteria A and C with a local level of significance. Remarkably well-preserved, and one of two extant one-room schoolhouses in Petersham, the District No.4 School meets Criterion A for its association with the district system of education. The building, which operated as a school from its construction in 1846 through its closure in 1943, is the oldest extant school in Petersham. Also known as the First East, or Ledgeville, School, the building also meets Criterion A for its association with community activities, including lyceum lectures, dramatic performances, 4-H club meetings, social events, and whist parties hosted by the Ledgeville Association. During World War II, the school became a gathering place to make bandages for the Red Cross. District No. 4 School meets Criterion C as a well-preserved example of a wood-frame, gable-end, Greek Revivalstyle, one-room district school building. The period of significance begins with the construction of the building, and ends 50 years prior to the date of listing.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria