National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Wright Brothers Hill / Memorial
Reference Number 16000460
State Ohio
County Greene
Town Wright-Patterson Air Force Base
Street Address Memorial Drive
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 7/19/2016
Areas of Significance Landscape Architecture, Recreation
Link to full file
Wright Brothers Hill, constructed from 1938 to 1940, commemorates the exceptional achievements of the Wright brothers. The site overlooks the Huffman Prairie Flying Field, a National Historic Landmark where the Wright brothers mastered their flying skills and developed the first practical airplane, the Wright Flyer III.11 Wright Brothers Hill was designed by the acclaimed Olmsted Brothers landscape architecture firm. The memorial was made possible through the efforts of two civic-minded Dayton business leaders, John H. Patterson and Colonel Edward A. Deeds. With the help of the Olmsted firm, Patterson and Deeds brought healthy, pleasant, outdoor environments to the Dayton area. Wright Brothers Hill has attained local and national significance because of its history of public access, its proximity to other historical locations of aviation innovations, and its status as the work of a design firm that has profoundly influenced American landscape architecture.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria