National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Duluth Harbor North Pier Light
Reference Number 16000340
State Minnesota
County St. Louis
Town Duluth
Street Address In Lake Superior at the eastern end of the Duluth Ship Canal north pier
Multiple Property Submission Name Light Stations of the United States
Status Listed 6/7/2016
Areas of Significance Maritime History, Transportation, Engineering
Link to full file
The Duluth Harbor North Pier Light is significant on the local level in St. Louis County, Minnesota, and is eligible for inclusion in the National Register under Criteria A and C. It is significant under Criterion A for its association with Federal efforts to provide for an integrated system of navigational aids throughout the United States. This property also qualifies for National Register listing under Criterion C because it embodies and exemplifies distinctive architectural design and engineering aspects of early twentieth century lighthouses built on Great Lakes harbor entry piers and breakwaters. The Duluth Harbor North Pier Light's period of historical significance begins in 1910 when it was established as a Federal aid to navigation and ends in 1966, its most recent year of operation 50 years before the present. This property retains integrity in terms of location, setting, design, materials, workmanship, association, and feeling. It is a well-known and widely recognized landmark in St. Louis County.

Any Associated Files
Light Stations of the United States


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria