National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Sturdevant SW Historic District
Reference Number 16000248
State Iowa
County Bremer
Town Waverly
Street Address Area roughly bounded by 1st St SW & Cedar River, 8th St SW, 1st Ave SW & W Bremer Ave, and Sth Ave SW
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 5/16/2016
Link to full file
The Sturdevant SW Historic District is significant under Criteria A, B and C at the local level. The district serves as a representative example of the residential neighborhoods that developed in Waverly's four residential quadrants located northwest, northeast, southeast and southwest of the central business district from the late 19th through the mid-20th century. Located in the Southwest Quadrant in the blocks immediately south of the west end of the business district, the Sturdevant SW Historic District provided housing for middle-to-working class families as well as business and professional leaders. Many of these individuals resided in the neighborhood for several generations while establishing long-lived businesses and professional practices or making substantial contributions to the local economy and civic life of the community. Architecturally, the residences demonstrated the aesthetic choices of the late 19th and early 20th century through the adaptation of popular architectural styles and vernacular building forms. In a number of instances regional architects as well as experienced local building contractors were called upon to erect well-designed and well-crafted dwellings and churches. Though several other residential neighborhoods in Waverly qualify for the National Register, these aspects of historic and architectural significance make the Southwest Quadrant's Sturdevant SW Historic District standout as significant at the local level.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria