National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name The Furies Collective
Reference Number 16000211
State District of Columbia
County DC
Town Washington, DC
Street Address 219 11th Street SE
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 5/2/2016
Areas of Significance Social History
Link to full file
The Furies Collective, historically located at 219 11th Street SE, meets National Register Criterion A with Social History as the Area of Significance. The Furies Collective house is directly connected with the early expression and definition of the character, role, and ideology of the lesbian community as a social and political community in itself, and within the second-wave women's movement and American society in general in the early 1970s. The house became the operational center of the lesbian feminist separatist collective, the Furies, between late 1971 and the autumn of 1973 which created and led the debate over lesbians' place in society. The twelve women in the collective published a lesbian feminist edition of motive magazine, a youth magazine of the United Methodist Church, and more importantly, a tabloid-size newspaper titled The Furies which over a period of two years raised and discussed major questions of women's identity, women's relationships with other women, with men, and with society at large. That newspaper and its sister publication, the lesbian feminist issue of motive, set the issues and agenda of lesbian and feminist discussion for many years to come.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria