National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name North 24th and Lake Streets Historic District
Reference Number 16000159
State Nebraska
County Douglas
Town Omaha
Street Address North 24th St. between Ohio St. and Patrick Ave., Lake St. between 26th and 22th Sts.
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 4/12/2016
Areas of Significance Ethnic Heritage: Black, Commerce Community Planning and Development
Link to full file
The North 24th and Lake Streets Historic District is significant on a local level under Criterion A in the area of black Ethnic Heritage for its strong association with the African-American community in Omaha. The district is also locally significant under Criterion A in the area of Commerce and Community Planning and Development as a predominant commercial intersection in Omaha that developed at a focal point in the city�s streetcar system. Throughout the settlement and development of the area, the cultural value and legacy of the neighborhood has continually evolved. Beginning in the late nineteenth century, the district embraced new immigrants from Europe and later from Eastern Europe specifically. By the nineteen teens, the neighborhood thrived as the epicenter of the city�s flourishing black community. Jewish immigrants referred to North 24th Street as the Miracle Mile. African-Americans called it the Street of Dreams. Today the area continues to serve as a central business district and the heart of Omaha�s African-American community.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria