National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Ash-Grove Historic District on East Douglas Avenue
Reference Number 16000135
State Kansas
County Sedgwick
Town Wichita
Street Address 2100- 2330 E Douglas Ave (evens); 114 & 117 N Madison Ave; 111 N Spruce St; 115-117 N Grove St
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 4/5/2016
Areas of Significance Commerce
Link to full file
The Ash-Grove Historic District on East Douglas Avenue is nominated to the National Register of Historic Places under Criterion A for its association with the growth and development of this commercial cluster opposite Wichita East High School. The 2100-2300 Blocks of East Douglas Avenue were initially developed during a time when the city was experiencing explosive growth that led to neighborhood and commercial expansion outside the city's core. Development along this section of East Douglas, one of the city's main east-west thoroughfares, followed the establishment of Wichita's "Auto-Row" on East Douglas immediately east of downtown and coincided with the selection of the south side of the 2200 block as home to Wichita's new high school, built in the 1920s to serve the eastward-marching Wichita population. This growth stalled by the end of the decade as the 1930s ushered in a focus on survival, not expansion. The second wave of development within this district spanned from 1940-1960. Wichita's World-War II and post-war growth was related largely to Wichita's aviation industry. Grove Street, the eastern boundary of the district, served as the north-south thoroughfare connecting the aviation businesses that had developed south and east of the city. Eight new buildings were constructed in this three-block area in the post-war era. The district generally took its current form by 1960.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria