National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Grant-Deneau Tower
Reference Number 16000044
State Ohio
County Montgomery
Town Dayton
Street Address 40 West Fourth Street
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 2/23/2016
Link to full file
Grant-Deneau Tower is significant at the local level under Criterion A in the area of community planning and development, as the building reflects one of the first major construction projects completed in Dayton in an effort to revitalize the downtown and to reverse significant decentralization of the city as suburban competition rapidly increased. Grant-Deneau Tower is also nominated under Criterion C for the distinct characteristics of modern New Formalism and Miesian style architecture and construction. Designed by local architects Deneau-Kleski and Associates, the nominated building is documented by local newspaper and advertisement resources as being the first modern office tower in Dayton, while also the tallest building in the city when constructed in 1969. Grant-Deneau Tower is a significant representation of early local efforts to catalyze redevelopment in the urban core of downtown Dayton by bringing modern design and amenities to the struggling city. For these reasons the nominated property demonstrates exceptional significance within the past 50 years and warrants eligibility under Criteria Consideration G, per National Register guidelines. The period of significance begins with construction of the building in 1969 and extends to 1979 when the construction of the lobby enclosure was completed.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria