National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Sedgwick Gardens
Reference Number 16000028
State District of Columbia
County District of Columbia
Town District of Columbia
Street Address 3726 Connecticut Avenue, NW
Multiple Property Submission Name Apartment Buildings in Washington, D.C., 1880-1945
Status Listed 2/23/2016
Link to full file
Constructed in 1931-1932, the Art Deco Sedgwick Gardens was designed by prominent Washington architect Mihran Mesrobian for local developer Max Gorin as one of several apartment buildings constructed along Connecticut Avenue north of Rock Creek Park in the 1920s and early 1930s. A small number of luxury apartment buildings were erected just south of Rock Creek Park by 1910, but with the construction of the Taft Bridge over the park in 1909, development continued northward, expanding the apartment building corridor along the avenue. Building construction generally came to halt during World War I, as materials and supplies were dedicated to the war effort, creating a housing shortage as new residents flooded the city to fill war-related jobs. In the decade following the war, an apartment building boom swept Washington to meet the demand for housing. New buildings sprang up around the city; the largest and most lavish of these buildings were erected on Connecticut Avenue, including the Wardman Park (1918), the Broadmoor (1928), the Kennedy-Warren (1931), and Sedgwick Gardens (1931-32).

Any Associated Files
Apartment Buildings in Washington, D.C., 1880-1945


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria