National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Cashier (oyster schooner)
Reference Number 15001050
State New Jersey
County Cumberland
Town Commercial Township
Street Address Bayshore Center at Bivalve, 2800 High Street
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 2/8/2016
Areas of Significance Agriculture, Maritime
Link to full file
CASHIER meets criterion A in the category of Maritime History because she was a working vessel during the rise, peak and decline of oystering in the Delaware Bay in the 19th and 20th centuries and was significant from 1849 to 1964. CASHIER was built in 1849 as a two-masted Delaware Bay schooner and exhibits the alterations typical of a schooner in the oyster fleet over the last 165 years. CASHIER is the oldest, continuously-worked American-flagged merchant vessel in the United States. She worked the waters, mostly out of Bivalve, Commercial Township, Cumberland County, NJ from 1849 to 2000. She is the oldest surviving example of a Delaware Bay oyster schooner, more than 500 of which formerly worked the Bay's oyster beds at any given time during the robust years of the Delaware Bay oyster industry. She represents the widespread transition from sail power to gas screw engine, as well as the continued adaptation of the dredge boats for navigation, culling and accommodation of hands. CASHIER's physical remains embody the story of the rise and fall of the oyster industry and its struggle to adapt to changing conditions in the Delaware Bay, formerly one of the nation's most important harvest areas, and in oyster communities around the country.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria