National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name New Bern Historic District Boundary Increase II
Reference Number 15000956
State North Carolina
County Craven
Town New Bern
Street Address Bounded by Roundtree . Oak. West. F. West A. North Bern. Bern . Nunn and Cedar streets
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 1/5/2016
Areas of Significance Social History, Architecture, Ethnic Heritage: Black
Link to full file
The New Bern Historic District Boundary Increase II adds a significant African American residential area to the New Bern Historic District (NR 1973) and the New Bern Historic District Boundary Expansion (NR 2003). The increase encompasses an African American residential neighborhood composed of some twenty-four gridpatterned blocks of houses, which occupy a portion of the historic area ofNew Bern known since the early 1800s as Dryborough, plus the adjoining Greenwood Cemetery, a large African American municipal cemetery. The Boundary Increase II includes blocks of Bern, West, Cedar, Main, and Cypress streets ofthe original Dry borough plat. The southern portion of Dry borough (Bern, West, and Cedar streets), is included in the previous National Register historic district boundary expansion nomination of2003. Other original blocks of Dry borough were cleared and incorporated into Cedar Grove Cemetery (NR 1972). A small area of houses on Roundtree, Oak, Reizenstein and Elm streets west of Dryborough is also included in the Boundary Increase II because of their similar age and character to the Dryborough resources.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria