National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Jackson County Courthouse
Reference Number 15000931
State Illinois
County Jackson
Town Murphysboro
Street Address 1001 Walnut Street
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 12/29/2015
Areas of Significance Politics/Government, Architecture
Link to full file
The Jackson County Courthouse is locally significant and eligible for listing in the National Register of Historic Places under Criterion A-Politics/Government and Criterion C-Architecture. The present courthouse, completed in 1928, and its predecessors have served as the administrative and governing center of Jackson County since 1844. It is an excellent, wellpreserved example of the Classical Revival style. The Jackson County Courthouse reflects ancient Greek and Roman architectural style. Characteristics of Classical Revival style as shown on the Jackson County courthouse are, a symmetrical plan, Doric columns and entablature, pediments, the use of acanthus leaves, and the eclectic use of cornices and balustrades on the exterior. The interior reflects the style of a classical rotunda/atrium. Constructed and designed by the experienced firms of English Brothers Construction Company and Spencer and Son Architects, the magnificent structure has served as the anchor of the Murphysboro Public Square for almost 90 years and has provided a sense of community pride and stability over the years. The period of significance is from 1928 when construction was completed to 1965 which represents the 50-year cut-off for National Register significance.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria