National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Jacob T. Miers House
Reference Number 15000857
State New York
County Schoharie
Town Schoharie
Street Address 103 Knower Avenue
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 12/1/2015
Link to full file
The Jacob T. Miers House is locally significant under Criterion A as the second home of the Schoharie Free Library in Schoharie, NY. The Schoharie Free Library Association was founded in 1916 by members of the Schoharie Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) and reflects a local response to the desire for public libraries throughout the United States in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. In 1963, the library moved from the DAR headquarters in Lasell Hall (National Register listed, 2002) into this building which had been the home of dry goods store owner Jacob T. Miers. A local merchant who operated a store on Main Street, Schoharie, from 1865 to 1914, Miers died one of the wealthiest men in the county. Evidence suggests that the Miers House is also significant under Criterion C for its representation of the Second Empire style in American architecture. It bears a strong resemblance to Design 1 in the Supplement to Bicknell's Village Builder (Amos Jackson Bicknell, 1871) and appears to be a representative pattern home. Such houses were based on published designs intended to elevate the "taste" of builders and clients and became popular in the U.S. during the latter half of the nineteenth century.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria